Positive affirmation for the big day?!

There's a lot of literature out there on "sports psychology," and I think there is something to it!  Goal setting, positive self-talk, visualization, and the like do help me in both athletics and work (e.g. "I'm good enough, I'm smart enough, and gosh darn it people like me!).

Back in high school soccer my coach consistently had us use a motivational cheer before each game.  He also provided us with motivational quotes which I continue to enjoy.  A few I still remember… "The only place success comes before work is in the dictionary" and "when your body is telling you to quit, you've only gone halfway as far as you can go."

One of my high school track coaches would tell us that the third quarter of any race was always the most difficult – both physically and mentally.  I've found that to be true and that is the time you really want a good positive mantra running through your head.

So… I need one!  My typical mantra is "I hate running, why am I running, this is the worst ever, why would I ever sign up to do a marathon, I'm going to die, ok no, I'm not going to die but I kind of wish someone would just drive me to the end, OK I'm fine, I can run for a few more minutes, nope I want to quit…" and so on.  This is not very positive!

This site gives a few examples

  • I am a strong runner
  • I am filled with energy
  • I can do anything
  • I am powerful
  • I feel great
  • I am getting faster
  • I always finish strong
  • I am relaxed and focused
  • I run like the wind
  • I love running
  • I have a strong and healthy body
  • I am light and fast
  • I love running hills
  • I love the sun

Any suggestions?

2 comments

  1. Our highschool cross-country team motto was “Go hard or go home.” It helped us push hard not only for races but for every pratice too. Good luck in boston this weekend.

Leave a Reply

