Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade!!!

Happy Turkey Day everyone!  I hope it is fabulous for you and your family!  My lovely sisters and future bro-in-law and I are going to the famous parade today, and it should be a good time!  I'll post pictures!  

So, it looks like it's going to be absolutely freezing!  I've heard that being cold and shivering can relate to a higher calorie burn, which is not entirely accurate and you can read about it here.  Being bundled up is supposed to correlate to about 10% more energy used (calories burned), I suppose due to the extra weight of the attire.  Shivering does burn some calories as well, so I'm pretty much going to count being cold as the workout of the day =-)

In all seriousness, it is a great idea to get up and exercise a bit before stuffing your face with Thanksgiving goodness.  Just a little extra exercise can help you keep the holiday weight gain down, and may even make you think twice before eating that fourth roll or eighth cookie!  There's a good article here on one of my fave websites on this subject.

OK, I'll be back with PICS!  Gobble gobble!

One comment

  1. Have fun Megan and Kelsey! πŸ™‚ A year ago you two girlies were kicking some butt in the Suntree Turkey Day run, now you are livin’ it up in NYC! πŸ˜€ ENJOY! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

