Spinning intervals and body weight exercise

Due to my transportation situation to work today (carpool) I only had 30 minutes for the gym this morning.  I knocked out a quick interval workout on the spin bike. Spinning-bike-1

Image: Wikipedia Commons

  • 5 minute warm up, low resistance, 70-90 RPM
  • 20 seconds high resistance (as high resistance as allows you to maintain 50 RPM)
  • 40 seconds low resistance, speed > 90 RMP
  • 30 seconds high resistance > speed 50 RPM
  • 30 seconds low resistance > speed 90 RMP
  • 40 seconds high resistance > speed 50 RPM
  • 20 seconds low resistance > speed 90 RMP
  • 60 seconds high resistance > speed 50 RPM
  • 60 seconds low resistance > speed 90 RMP
  • Repeat intervals 3 more times
  • 5 minute cool down, low resistance, 60-70 RPM

My evening cooking activities were almost like something out of Hell's Kitchen – so does that count as a workout?  Kidding, but I added 100 push ups and some core this evening to round out the day.  However, I've noticed that my hip is really sore today!  I don't know what is going on with that, and I can't really correlate to any specific activity, just the fact that it gets sore when I do somewhat intense exercise =-(

Leave a Reply

