“Race to Boston” continues

If you are a runner or follow the news, I'm sure you've heard how the Boston Marathon closed within 8 hours and 3 minutes of registration opening!!!!! 

Boston

This has never happened – usually the race remains open for several months prior to capping around 26,000.  There are some articles here, here and here.  I was really lucky to get in…I got a confirmation email that if "all the information … provided is correct" that I am accepted.  So, as long as my time at Disney is confirmed, I'm good to go as far as registration is concerned!

There, of course, is an interesting story around this whole thing.  My sister Kelsey who pushed me through all our training for Disney 2009 has recently gotten engaged to her boyfriend, Trey.  Their engagement story is adorable, as is the couple.  Those who know Kelsey know she is a very sweet, thoughtful, and selfless person.  She called me a few weeks after the engagement and asked if I would mind if she had her wedding the weekend before Boston – in fact the day before!  She will be working as a nurse practicioner for a public school in Brooklyn, and the week of the 18th coincides with her Spring Break.

I told her it is her wedding and OF COURSE I didn't mind – it is sad we can't do the race together, but so exciting that she is getting married!  I also told her that if I decided to do the race, I still could, so it would be up to me to decide…

After our discussion I was on the fence – on one hand, I could skip the race, save damage to my knee, stay at my sister's wedding, and let it go.  On the other hand, I was thinking how I would regret it if I didn't race.  I DON'T plan to continue endurance running after Boston recognizing that my knee is not intact – so this would really be my only chance to qualify for and race in Boston. 

I was going back and forth until Kelsey called me again on the 16th of April and told me she wanted me to do the race.  We discussed the logistics (I would have to leave about an hour early from her reception) and agreed that it would be another good story 🙂

Well, let's just talk logistics…I'm flying direct Orlando to Boston on Sunday, April 17th, landing at 12:03 am on the 18th!!!  I'm going to have to find someone who can pick up my race packet for me and get it to me, and somehow get to the race!  I will start at 10:30 am, so I want to stay as close to the starting line as possible so I can sleep in a little bit rather than having to take the marathon transportation over there at around 6:30 am.

WHEW!  This is a lot to think about!  Anyway, here's my workout for today:

WORKOUT RECAP

  Today, I did a short cardio and strength workout.  I'm really easing into it 😉

Cardio

Stationary (Recumbant) bike

  • 5 minute warm up, level 2 @ 60 rpm
  • 3-4 sets of the following:
  1. 20 seconds, level 6 @ 50 rpm, 40 seconds, level 2 @ 90 rpm
  2. 30 seconds, level 6 @ 50 rpm, 30 seconds, level 2 @ 90 rpm
  3. 40 seconds, level 6 @ 50 rpm, 20 seconds, level 2 @ 90 rpm
  4. 60 seconds, level 6 @ 50 rpm
  5. 60 seconds, level 2 @ 90 rpm
  • 5 minute cool down, level 2 @ 60 rpm

Strength

  • Weighted side bends (core) – 3 sets of 15 at 15 lbs.  Hold weight in your right hand and put your left palm on the back of your head.  Lean to the right slowly and lower the weight as far as you can.  Slowly come back to start and pull the weight back up.  Use your abs.  Repeat 15 reps each side for one set.  Do three sets.
  • Bicep curls – 3 sets of 15 at 15 lbs.
  • Dumbell lateral and front raises – 3 sets of 8 at 8 lbs. 

 

Leave a Reply

